jump to navigation

Poor Management August 12, 2006

Posted by weare1 in commentary, rant.
trackback

>$I see it everyday, unmotivated, unhappy employees, poor customer service, and arrogant management that think they’re doing a good job. Go ahead fuckwads, try and hide behind your precious IVRs, (aka voicemail hell) we see you. I see simple things in everyday business operations that could be done better, cheaper, and faster.

I see Southwest Airlines is about to reverse their stupid best line-cutters/elbowers get best/only seats. “Heads up grandma.” Still their arrogant overbooking policy and lack of accommodation will prevent me from ever flying that airline again.

Customer badwill, it’s a lot more expensive then any other expense I can think of in business, and it has a very long memory. We all harbor badwill towards our cable companies and vow to dump them at first opportunity, right? Why is that? Does it have to be that way? Is that the most profitable way? The simplest?

Bad management is also self-perpetuating. Bad managers (who think they’re good managers) hire more bad managers, thus ensuring a consistant supply of short term thinking at the expense of long term optimization.

Turnaround is fair play. I used to be a huge Apple fan (Apple II, Newton, Mac I, II, Powerbook, AAPL stock), but they got arrogant and started charging ridiculous amounts for everything, simply because they could, they were the originators of the upgrade your OS or else, school of customer support, not Microsoft like popular opinion would have you believe. Granted Microsoft did make this a new art form. Eventually I got to the point where I said, “I’m not going to buy another Apple product again, ever.” And I didn’t, well for about 10 years anyway. That damned Mac Mini was just too sexy not to buy. You know what, not only did I like it, I liked the way Apple treated me this time around, so I got one of those Ipod things the kids all have, and I liked that too. So Apple made it off the badwill list but it cost them bigtime.

Comcast, you’re still on the list yet I pay you every month (basic cable only). Because I live in an apartment and I gotta have my Daily Show from Comedy Central. But rest assured that if or when AT&T comes out with a competitor I’m outtie bitch. Even at almost twice the price they will have a chance to harvest their own badwill if old SBC cum pacbell management is still in place. The ironic thing is they could get more money per month out of me if they simply did away with restrictive pricing. I would happy pay $20 a month more just to get HBO but I would have to subscribe to some fascist “tiered” package for $40 a month more. That pricing structure isn’t technical as they would have you believe either. It’s preditory pricing, I don’t like it, and I won’t pay for it, and it’ll end up costing you more in the long run. Stupid greedy ass mutherfuckers.

End rant.

Digg rant 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

